

SPECIAL MEETING OF ACADEMIC BOARD

18 May 2017

MINUTES

PRESENT¹: Provost (Chair)

Professor Bas Aarts; Professor Dario Alfe; Professor Robin Ali; Ms Wendy Appleby; Professor Erik Arstad; Professor Jonathan Ashmore; Professor Tomaso Aste; Professor Kristin M. Bakke; Professor Maria S. Balda; Professor Chris Barker; Professor Gillian Bates; Professor Benjamin Baum; Professor Matthew Beaumont; Dr Yasminah Beebeejaun; Professor Stephan Beck; Professor Jonathan Bell; Professor Vittorio L Bellotti; Professor Andrew Bevan; Dr Jason Blackstock; Professor Ann Blandford; Professor Martin Bobak; Mr Timothy Bodley-Scott; Professor Helen Birch: Professor Stephanie Bird: Professor David Bowler: Professor Frances Brodsky; Professor Jeremy Brown; Professor Rob Brownstone; Professor Victor Buchli; Professor Neil Burgess; Professor Jon Butterworth; Professor Franco Cacialli; Professor Joseph Cain; Dr Ben Caplin; Professor Matteo Carandini; Ms Bonita Carboo; Professor Claire Carmalt; Professor Richard Catlow; Professor Lucie Clapp; Professor Rachel Chambers; Professor Guillaume Charras; Professor Kwang Choy; Dr Elisabete Cidre; Professor Shamshad Cockcroft; Professor David Coen; Dr Alun R. Coker; Professor Marjan Colletti; Professor John Collinge; Professor Susan Collins; Professor Stephen Colvin; Professor Marc-Olivier Coppens; Mr Mark Crawford; Professor Marcos Cruz; Professor Stuart Cull-Candy; Ms Sonja Curtis; Professor Daniel Cutler; Professor Nicola Countouris; Professor Gregory Dart; Professor Pamela Davidson; Professor Stephen W Davies; Professor Julio Davila; Professor Brian Day; Professor Izzat Darwazeh; Professor Robertus De Bruin; Dr Rachele De Felice; 3URIHVVRU 'LQD '¶\$\DOD 3URIHVVRU 5REHUWXV \$ GH %UXL 0 Diaz; Professor Simon Dixon; Professor Annette Dolphin; Professor Chris Donlan; Ms Elizabeth Dow: Professor Michael Duchen: Professor Dorothy Duffy; Professor Piet Eeckhout; Dr Karen Edge; Professor Susan E. Evans; Professor Mark Farrant; Professor Ariberto Fassati: Professor Helen Fielding: Professor Margot Finn: Professor Andrew J Fisher: Professor Elizabeth Fisher; Professor Maria Fitzgerald; Professor Mark Ford; Professor Becky Francis; Professor Eric Fraga; Dr Richard Freeman; Nick Freemantle; Dr Martin Fry;

Professor Helen Hailes; Professor Sue Hamilton; Professor Alison Hardcastle; Dr Andrew J Harris; Professor Kenneth Harris; Professor Alister Hart; Professor John A Hartley; Professor Kirsten Harvey; Professor Nigel Harvey; Professor Robert Harvey; Ms Melissa Hazen; Professor Valerie Hazan: Professor Jenny Head: Professor Jem Hebden: Professor Michael Heinrich; Professor Harry Hemingway; Professor Ian Hepburn; Professor Theo Hermans; Professor Benjamin Heydecker; Professor Robert S Heyderman; Professor Simon Hillson; Dr Evangelos Himonides; Professor Aroon Hingorani; Professor Robin Hirsch; Dr Andrea Hodgetts; Dr Arne Hofmann; Professor Martin Holbraad; Ms Caroline Holden; Professor Jonathan A. Holmes; Professor Bart Hoogenboom; Mrs Lori Houlihan; Professor Stephen P Hunt; Dr Hynek Pikhart; Professor Glen Jeffery; Professor Kate Jeffrey; Professor Kristjan Jessen; Professor Helene Joffe; Professor Francis Johnson; Dr Elizabeth Jury; Professor Prof. Benjamin Kaplan; Professor Robert Kleta; Mr Rex Knight; Mr Tom Knight; Professor Jonathan Knowles; Professor Martin Koltzenburg; Professor Susan Kuechler-Fogden; Professor Yaroslav Kurylev; Professor Ofer Lahav; Professor Marie Lall; Professor Diana Laurillard; Professor Andrew Leak; Professor Alexander Leff; Professor Louis Lemieux; Professor George Letsas; Professor Paola Lettieri; Professor Caren Levy; Professor Glyn Lewis; Professor Alison Lloyd; Professor Marilena Loizidou; Professor David Lomas; Professor Mark Lowdell; Professor Robert Lumley; Professor Philip Luthert; Professor Gary J Lye; Professor Mark Lythgoe; Professor Gary McCulloch; Professor Sandy MacRobert; Professor Gesine Manuwald; Dr Jenny Marie; Professor Alexi Marmot; Professor John Martin; Professor Karl Matter; Professor Michael Martin; Dr Colin Marx; Professor Karl Matter; Dr Margaret J Mayston; Professor Alastair McClelland; Professor Eamon McCrory; Professor Robb McDonald: Professor Christopher McGregor: Professor Chris McManus: Professor Paul F. McMillan; Dr Saladin D Meckled-Garcia; Professor Francesca Medda; Professor Philip G. Meredith; Professor Kevin J Middlebrook; Professor Neil Mitchell; Professor John Morton; Professor Stephen E Moss; Professor Vivek Mudera; Professor John Mullan; Professor Jan-Peter Muller; Professor Veronique Munoz-Darde; Dr Charlene Murphy; Mr David E Newton; Professor Thanh T Nguyen; Professor Ryan Nichol; Professor Shinichi Ohnuma; Professor John O'Keefe; Dr Kit F Opie; Professor Daniel Osborn; Professor Norbert Pachler; Professor Sandip Patel; Professor Paola Pedarzani; Professor Jason Peacey; Dr Andy Pearce; Dr Anne Peasey; Professor Barbara Pedley; Professor Alan Penn; Professor Arthur Petersen; Professor Konstantinos Petrides; Professor Franck Pichaud; Professor Kholoud Porter; Professor David Price: Professor Stephen D. Price: Professor Sarah L Price: Professor Saul Purton; Professor Stephen Quirke; Professor Geraint Rees; Professor Neil Rennie; Professor Ferruccio Renzoni: Professor Peter Rich: Mr William Richardson: Professor Helen Roberts: Professor Sue Rogers; Professor Gary Rubin; Professor Meg Russell; Ms Fiona Ryland; Professor Ruben Saakvan; Professor Maneesh Sahani; Professor Patricia Salinas; Dr Benet Salway ; Professor Vieri Samek-Lodovici; Professor Rose Marie San Juan; Professor Nader

Phiroze Vasunia; Professor Yiannis Ventikos; Professor Essi Viding; Professor Gabriella Vigliocco; Professor Serena Viti; Professor Bridget Wade; Professor Lucy Walker; Mr Martin Walsh; Professor Paul Warburton; Ms Susan Ware; Professor Li Wei; Professor David Wengrow; Professor Todd Whitelaw; Professor Bryan Williams; Dr Andrew Wills; Professor Stephen Wilson; Professor John Wood; Professor Nicholas Wood; Dr. Alison Wright; Professor Derek Yellon; Professor Christopher Yeo; Professor Ian Zachary; Professor Mehrdad Zanganeh

In attendance: Mr Derfel Owen (Secretary to Academic Board); Ms Siobhan Fitzgerald (Academic Services); Ms Sandra Hinton (Academic Services); Mr Richard Akerele (Academic Services).

Apologies for absence were received from: Dr Joerg T Albert; Professor Jim Anderson; Professor Timothy R Arnett; Professor David Attwell; Professor Jürg Bähler; Professor James Bainbridge; Professor Stephen Ball; Professor Richard Bellamy; Professor Michael Berkowitz; Professor Wendy Best; Professor Martin Birchall; SarahHEFCE Higher Education Funding Council for EnglandNSSNational Student SurveyQAAQuality Assurance AgencyREFResearch Excellence Framework

- Senior Management Team SMT
- Teaching Excellence Framework University College London Union TEF
- ULCU
- VP Vice-Provost

Board to discuss was unwelcome, as it would filter-out material where accessing everything was preferable and necessary for full-engagement in an on-going dialogue by members of AB.

59.6 Some members commented that it was the responsibility of members of Academic Board to make themselves aware of and keep pace with the issues being discussed at Academic Board by fully preparing for meetings and thereby actively engaging in the