Academic Board – 15 March 2022 – Minutes

Holt, Professor Bart Hoogenboom, Professor Jennifer Hudson, Professor Richard Jackman, Professor Dan Jagger, Professor Helene Joffe, Professor David Jones, Ms. Liz Jones, Ms Charlotte Choy, Professor Jian Kang, Professor Benjamin Kaplan, Professor Matilda Katan-Muller, Professor Catherine Keen, Professor Yvonne Kelly, Professor Nicoletta Kessaris, Professor James Kirkbride, Professor Josef Kittler, Professor Robert Kleta, Professor Alison Koslowski, Ms Edyta Kostanek, Mr Dimitrios Kraniotis, Professor Mark Lake, Professor Benjamin Lauderdale, Dr Borja Legarra Herrero, Dr Fiona Leigh, Professor Paola Lettieri, Professor Li Wei, Professor Xi Liang, Professor Allison Littlejohn, Professor Annemaree Lloyd-Zantiotis, Professor David Lomas, Dr Helga Lúthersdóttir, Professor Gary Lye, Professor Sandy MacRobert, Professor Eleanor Main, Dr Elvira Mambetisaeva, Dr Juliana Martins, Professor Christos Masouros, Dr Margaret Mayston, Dr Claire McAndrew, Professor Carolyn McGettigan, Dr Ruth McGinity, Professor Desmond Mcmorrow, Professor Anne McMunn, Dr Saladin Meckled-Garcia, Professor Nils Metternich, Professor Susan Michie, Ms Angharad Milenkovic, Professor Oleg Mitrofanov, Professor Sara Mole, Dr Dafne Zuleima Morgado Ramirez, Professor Ruth Morgan, Professor Rear Admiral Neil Morisetti, Professor Sharon Morris, Professor Gemma Moss, Professor Vivek Mudera, Professor Dejan Mumovic, Professor Veronique Munoz-Darde, Professor Steven Murdoch, Professor Mirco Musolesi, Professor Florian Mussgnug, Dr Helene Neveu Kringelbach, Dr Mark Newman, Dr Will Newton, Professor Thanh Nguyen, Dr Alex Norori-McCormac, Professor Richard North, Dr Abel Nyamapfene, Professor Catherine O'Keeffe,

Academic Board - 15 March 2022 - Minutes

Academic Board – 15 March 2022 – Minutes

the need to avoid resorting to reorganisation as a response to concerns with student satisfaction levels without evidencing a relationship between the two;

the need to identify in a structured way (involving the Education Committee) what the current problems were, and to develop a detailed understanding of current delivery, mindful of the importance of local flexibility appropriate to the discipline;

the question of the inclusion of lifelong learning in the process; the mutual interdependence of the current discussion with that arising from the forthcoming Size and Shape paper

Academic Board – 15 March 2022 – Minutes

with the format of the Academic Impact Statements. These documents (proposal and Report) including their options shall then be part of the presentation to AB for its deliberation. EdCom will adjust the proposals in light AB's deliberations, and produce a final document.

- v. The finalised Education Strategy document must come to AB for final approval at a meeting where all other Strategy documents are also before the Board.
- 38.11 Academic Board voted 72% yes, 10% no, and 18% abstaining, with 222 members voting.
- 39 MINUTES OF OTHER COMMITTEES (Paper 5-28)
 - 39.1 Noted.
- 40 **ACADEMIC BOARD ELECTED CONSTITUENCIES** (Paper 5-29)
 - 40.1 AB approved the proposal.
- 41 DATE OF THE NEXT MEETING
 - 41.1 The next sn5*num(E)-26\(\text{QD1IQD}\).000008866 0 594.96 842.04 reW*nBTF1 12 Tf1 0 0 1 108.02