Dr Bettina Friedrich; Professor Paul Fromme; Dr David Frost; Dr Martin Fry; Professor Mary Fulbrook; Professor Jonathan Gale; Professor Nicholas Gallent; Dr Caroline Garaway: Professor Sarah Garfinkel; Professor Haidy Geismar; Professor Dame Hazel Genn; Professor Alasdair Gibb; Professor Adam Gibson; Professor Shirli Gilbert; Professor Deborah Gill; Professor Richard Gilson; Professor Xavier Golay; Professor Nikolaos Gonis; Dr Hugh Goodacre; Professor Lesley Gourlay; Professor Ivan Gout: Ms Emma Grant: Professor Andrew Green: Ms Amanda Greene; Professor Linda Greensmith; Professor Alistair Greig; Professor Lewis Griffin; Dr Anne Grydehoj; Professor Francois Guesnet; Professor David Guile; Dr Lucia Patrizio Gunning: Professor Patrick Haggard: Professor Stephen Hailes: Professor Mordechai Haklay; Mr Martin Hall; Professor Susan Hamilton; Mr Jesper Hansen; Professor Stephen Hart; Professor Stephen M Hart; Professor Kirsten Harvey; Professor Michael Heinrich; Professor Robin Hickman; Professor Evangelos Himonides; Professor Aroon Hingorani; Professor Michael Hoare; Professor Arne Hofmann: Professor Martin Holbraad: Professor Jonathan Holmes: Professor Andrew Hudson-Smith; Professor John Hyman; Dr Alan Ingram; Professor Tom Jacques; Dr Dan Jagger; Professor Parmjit Jat; Mr Rafid Jawad; Professor Kathryn Jeffery: Professor Helene Joffe: Professor Peter Jones: Professor Jasmina Jovanovic; Professor Lily Kahn; Dr Jens Kandt; Professor Jian Kang; Ms Gunay Karimova; Professor Anthony Kenyon; Mr Joshua Kerr; Professor Eli Keshavarz-Moore; Dr Maki Kimura; Professor John King; Professor Robert Kleta; Professor Jonathan Knowles: Professor Martin Koltzenburg: Professor Nikolaos Konstantinidis: Ms Edyta Kostanek; Mr Dimitrios Kraniotis; Dr Fiona Kyle; Professor Monica Lakhanpaul; Professor Marie-Carine Lall; Dr Danielle Lamb; Professor Jonathan Ledermann; Dr Borja Legarra Herrero; Professor Louis Lemieux; Professor Paola Lettieri; Professor Albert Leung; Professor Wei Li; Professor Vincenzo Libri; Professor Jennifer Linden; Professor Christoph Lindner; Professor Chaozong Liu; Professor Alison Lloyd; Professor David Lomas; Dr Helga Lúthersdóttir; Ms Collette Lux: Ms Xuanyi Ma: Dr Isabel Mackay: Professor Sandy MacRobert: Professor Claudio De Magalhaes: Dr Merle Mahon: Professor Eleanor Main: Dr Elvira Mambetisaeva: Professor Chloe Marshall: Professor John Martin: Dr Juliana Martins: Professor Christos Masouros; Professor Jackie Masterson; Professor Sarah Matthews; Dr Claire McAndrew; Dr Ruth McGinity; Professor Jacqueline McGlade; Professor Chris McManus; Professor Andrew Mcquillin; Professor Susan Michie; Professor Nicola Miller; Professor Robert Mills; Professor Jenny Mindell; Professor John Mitchell; Professor Sara Mole; Ms Joanne Moles; Rear Admiral Neil Morisetti; Professor Sharon Morris: Professor Gemma Moss: Professor Vivek Mudera: Professor Michael Munday; Professor Veronique Munoz-Darde; Professor Steven Murdoch; Professor Mirco Musolesi; Professor Florian Mussgnug; Ms Marga Navarrete: Dr Helene Neveu Kringelbach; Dr Mark Newman; Professor Thanh Nguyen: Professor Mignon Nixon: Professor Lorraine Noble: Dr Nikolitsa Nomikou: Dr Alex Norori-McCormac; Dr Abel Nyamapfene; Professor Moses Oketch; Professor Martin Oliver; Mr Regan; Professor Norbert Pachler; Professor Enrico Palandri; Professor Amos Paran; Professor Jayne Parker; Professor Ivan Parkin; Professor Nora Pashayan; Professor Sandip Patel; Professor Paola Pedarzani; Dr Olga Perski; Professor James Phillips; Professor Hynek Pikhart; Professor Deenan Pillay; Professor Massimo Pinzani; Dr Jeffrey Pittaway; Professor Helene Plun-Favreau; Dr Michaela Pollock; Professor Mike Porter; Professor John Potter; Dr Stephen Potts; Professor David Price; Professor Audrey Prost; Professor Shamima Rahman; Dr Joana Ramalho; Professor Margaret

Part I: Preliminary Formal Business

34 ACADEMIC BOARD MINUTES

34.1 The minutes of the AB meeting of 10 February 2021 [AB Minutes 22-33, 2020-21] were confirmed, subject to the following amendments (addition of underlined text):

Minute 25.4: The Working Group <u>explained that it</u> had put this experience at the heart of its attempt to identify the most viable position, and had drawn on it in proposing an extensive programme of educational measures.

Minute 25.5: The Working Group <u>explained that its</u> concerns were founded on their view that the IHRA definition was inadequate, and did not reflect a lack of concern for the lived experience of Jewish people.

Minute 25.7: A number of members expressed their concerns about the level of antisemitic behaviour reported by UCL students. Several members spoke of their concerns about how any move to retract the IHRA definition would be perceived and how it might impact communal cohesion. It was noted that the adoption of the definition had been welcomed by the majority of Jewish staff and s

35 MATTERS ARISING

35.1 At a meeting on 18 February 2021 recommendation for the amendment of the Regulations for Management to dispense with the cap of six consecutive years for the purposes of elected membership of the Board. The Regulations would be updated with effect from 1 April 2021.

Part II: Matters for Discussion

- 36 **PROVOST'S BUSINESS** (Paper 4-30)
 - 36.1 An additional meeting of Academic Board would be arranged for

also that positive impact.

Regardless of the progress of the recovery from the pandemic, the expectations of individuals in terms of way of working would be fundamentally changed. The challenge to UCL would be to pivot to a more blended mixture of online and face-to-face teaching delivery. The discourse of inevitability should be resisted and the advantages of blended learning framed as a positive choice rather than merely the response to an emergency.

37.5 Professor Rees thanked Academic Board members for their comments and invited any further contributions to be sent to the Director of Planning, Dean Stokes.

38 **EDUCATION PLANNING 2021-22** (Paper 4-32)

38.1 Professor Anthony Smith, Vice-Provost (Education and Nr0-3(d)6F1 12 TfTm517.15 Tm0 to

38.7 Academic Board was generally content to proceed on the basis of those principles. Members were invited to contact Professor Gill if they had any further comments.

Part III: Other Business for approval or Information

- 39 **MINUTES OF OTHER COMMITTEES** (Paper 4-33)
 - 39.1 Academic Board received the minutes of other committees.

40 DATE OF THE NEXT MEETING

- 40.1 An additional meeting of Academic Board would be arranged for 17 March 2021 at 3.00-4.00pm.
- 40.2